Designing Connections: Focusing on People and Perspectives

Chloe Wickham, a third-year design student at Griffith University, discovered her passion for design while creating posters and graphics for her father’s business. Over time, her interest evolved into a deep love for branding and identity, shaped by her academic journey and experiences.

Dr Dominique Falla
The Creative Spiral
4 min readJun 21, 2024

--

In this interview, Chloe shares her insights on inspiration, creative identity, impactful projects, cultural influences, overcoming challenges, and her vision for the future of creative work.

Thank you so much for being our latest Creative Spark, Chloe. Can we start the interview by discussing how you got interested in design?

I started making posters and graphics on free apps on my tablet for my dad’s business in 2020. I wanted to learn how to make these more effective and aesthetic. Additionally, I love social media and wanted to create incredible Instagram stories (haha).

From this perspective, I started to form a strong love and passion. While studying for my degree and listening to many inspiring designers, I became aware that design isn’t just a physical outcome, a process of solution-solving, and so much more.

How has your creative identity evolved?

Initially, my creative identity was a generic graphic designer with no thought of reasoning but instead to produce a pretty outcome. I mostly play with introductory text on images and add things like logos. But over time, I have become more passionate about branding, identity, and the process of design. I strive to create a consistent look and feel that connects with people and the planet.

My skills have also developed in software such as Adobe Illustrator, which has allowed me to create more graphics and illustrations and helped me achieve this shift.

Can you tell us about some impactful projects and experiences you’ve had?

Interning at Liveworm Studio (a work-integrated learning studio at the Queensland College of Art and Design) helped me gain more skills and knowledge. It allowed me to receive feedback that I did not get from assignments or my job. I worked on various projects in this internship, including the Anno Magazine for Assisi School.

Volunteering at ATypI and meeting talented designers from all over the world truly inspired me. The recent Design Conference helped me grasp my ideas more and understand that my purpose isn’t just to design but to use the tools I’ve learned to help solve solutions and encourage others to use them.

How have cultural and social influences shaped your work?

Growing up, I was connected with various individuals from various cultures. My dad owned a martial arts centre offering a range of styles from different countries, which exposed me to artifacts and paintings based on Chinese and Japanese traditions.

This made me aware of cultural diversity and inspired me to incorporate these elements into my design. Additionally, growing up in a bush environment, my work often reflects themes of sustainability, nature, or animals.

What challenges have you faced, and how have they shaped you as a designer?

Among the spelling mistakes, I have encountered numerous challenges that have shaped me as a designer, and the difficult time of my mother passing away last year taught me to be organised and communicative while creating a mural design for my university remotely.

This experience taught me persistence and using creativity to cope with life’s challenges. Additionally, volunteering to create a book layout led to issues due to miscommunication and incorrect print dates. This experience emphasised the importance of clear communication with clients and stakeholders.

What are your aspirations for the future of your creative work?

I want to continue exploring different realms of design and progressing in my knowledge and skills. Ideally, I would love to work as a brand designer and strategist, solving problems for businesses, corporations, and communities.

As I finish my degree, I want to gain international experience and work in a studio overseas to gain a different perspective on styles and processes. Alongside this, I aim to continue exploring lettering and typography.

I enjoy listening to and questioning people about their perspectives on design, which I plan to incorporate into my career through a podcast.

Ultimately, I never want to stop learning from others, solving problems, and creating meaningful connections.

Chloe’s journey demonstrates a deep engagement with the design community and her unwavering focus on people and perspectives. As she approaches graduation, Chloe’s ability to form meaningful connections has significantly shaped her creative identity, and she is poised to make a lasting impact in the design world.

Her story is an inspiring reminder that building strong relationships and continuously seeking new perspectives, even as a student, is key to a fulfilling and impactful career in design.

You can see Chloe’s work on her Instagram profile.

--

--

Dr Dominique Falla
The Creative Spiral

Design Academic at Queensland College of Art + Design (QCAD) ✍🏻 Creativity, Design Education, and the Future of Work >> Study with us: www.griffith.edu.au/qcad