From Curiosity to Commitment

Tim Bresolin, a first-year design student at the Queensland College of Art and Design, began exploring design through a natural curiosity for motion design and digital photo manipulation. His journey took a pivotal turn when he realised the potential of graphic design, leading him to pursue formal education in the field.

Dr Dominique Falla
The Creative Spiral
3 min readJul 1, 2024

--

In this interview, Tim shares his journey from experimenting with digital tools to understanding the broader spectrum of design and offers insights into his aspirations in the design industry.

Thank you so much for being our latest Creative Spark, Tim. Let’s start the interview by discussing how you got interested in design.

I have always experimented with motion design, digital photo manipulation, and other digital software out of curiosity. Last year, I designed a branding guideline for my business, and my business partner suggested we get the guidelines checked by a graphic designer. Until that moment, I never fully understood what a graphic designer was. A brief research into the field made everything click for me. I wanted to dive into the fundamentals, so I looked into study pathways and enrolled in Design at Griffith University.

How has your creative identity evolved?

I used to make videos or images for fun or when a friend asked me to make something simple. There was never any ideation stage or structure to my creations. Now, I utilise structure, research, creativity, and the rest, which gives me a deeper understanding of the intent and direction behind my work.

Can you tell us about some impactful projects and experiences you’ve had?

The recent ATYPI + Typism and TDC conferences launched me into the real world of professional design.

They opened my eyes to the industry and showed me that the giants of design are just passionate people who have followed a similar path to mine.

Secondly, every class at Griffith University has broadened my understanding of design. I’ve gained an appreciation for how design encompasses much more than just graphic design — it includes spaces, senses, and various aspects I hadn’t previously considered.

Q: How have cultural and social influences shaped your work?

My dad was an illustrator until around 2005, so I grew up surrounded by sketching, vector art, and many art books. My mum also paints and crafts as a hobby. This artistic environment has significantly influenced my creative process.

What challenges have you faced, and how have they shaped you as a designer?

The challenge of returning to education 19 years after high school has been interesting but not difficult. I found out how quickly I could get behind in my studies when becoming sick, but this is another good lesson in structuring my work for clients in the future.

Classes that don’t directly relate to Graphic Design have challenged me to open my mind to different perspectives of Design; I have found this massively insightful.

What are your aspirations for the future of your creative work?

I aim to open my own Type Foundry as a personal goal with no profit expectations. Although I have a lot to understand about my interests outside of Visual Communications, my goal is to be multifaceted, within reason, to provide identity and design solutions to companies struggling to understand their vision and how to display it.

This might include custom and variable typefaces integrated into web design using motion for marketing and more.

Tim’s journey exemplifies his dedication to learning and expanding his understanding of design.

By embracing new perspectives and continuously seeking knowledge, Tim is well on his way to becoming a multifaceted designer. His story highlights the importance of curiosity and commitment in building a meaningful and impactful career in design.

You can see Tim’s work on his Behance profile.

--

--

Dr Dominique Falla
The Creative Spiral

Design Academic at Queensland College of Art + Design (QCAD) ✍🏻 Creativity, Design Education, and the Future of Work >> Study with us: www.griffith.edu.au/qcad