Surviving the First Draft Blues

Accepting your first draft’s flaws is the best thing you can do for your writing

Christopher Laine
On Creation
Published in
6 min readAug 17, 2019

--

“The first draft is black and white. Editing gives the story color.”
― Emma Hill

The first draft of my novel was actually a novella.

I had written it in under two months, and was super pleased with myself. The idea felt strong, the language of my narrator felt real and compelling, and I felt I had a winner on my hands.

Then I put it down for a month before reading it again. This has always been my habit as an author. When I finish any piece, be it a short story, a novella, or a full-blown novel, I make it a point to put it down for a period of time before reading it again. This, I find, helps to give me a fresh read of it — not as the author but as a reader.

After a month, I picked it up and read it again.

As you’re probably already imagining: it was terrible.

I had the First Draft Blues.

First Draft Blues: The sorry emotional state which accompanies the realisation that your first draft just isn’t as good as you thought it was.

The Weakness of First Drafts

--

--