Why the Great Old Ones Aren’t Enough Anymore

Cosmic Horror Is More Than the Overused Lovecraftian Creations which spawned it

Christopher Laine
On Creation
Published in
9 min readAug 4, 2021

--

From the Call of Cthulhu game “Masks of Nyarlathotep”, Image: Chaosium

Let me start with a cosmic horror confession: I never really found Cthulhu all that scary.

Sure, in the short story “The Call of Cthulhu”, we bear witness to the giant city of R’lyeh beneath the furthest reaches of the South Pacific. Built of unfathomable angles on a mind-twisting cyclopean scale, it is horrific geometry, black, jagged stone, and the awful hint of its foul denizens lurking in the dripping shadows. That’s damn cool.

Yet once Lovecraft looses Cthulhu on us, I never really got the horror I was supposed to feel.

“A pulpy, tentacled head surmounted a grotesque and scaly body with rudimentary wings” — Call of Cthulhu

The lack of horror was even further reduced when I saw Lovecraft’s own drawing of Cthulhu. Iä ftagn indeed! Cthulhu looks like he’s on the potty.

The Call of Nature for Cthulhu

While I was not unaware of the idea that its mountainous scope, its hideous stench, the mind-ruining…

--

--