How to Revamp your Resolutions Imperfectly

Leyla Novini
The Creativity Quotient
3 min readApr 16, 2024

--

I used to be big on New Years resolutions. I’d pick a grand goal and make some lifestyle changes and and build a routine. Unfortunately, as realistic challenges come in, and my daily routine shifts, I wouldn’t be able to tell you what my resolution was by mid-March.

In recent years, I’ve adjusted how I approached new goals to make them achievable and sustainable. To bring in changes that I am passionate about, I created a system for myself to track my current daily habits and how I adapt to new habits that I introduce.

Revising my habit system:

  • Kept it under 7 habits per week.
  • Connecting habits to what brings me joy.
  • Structured my mindset to “I don’t have to, I get to.”

In the two years that I’ve done this practice, here are my rituals and tips if you want to revamp your goals and resolutions.

Reassess frequently.

I adjust my goals three times a year (January, March, October) This gives me the opportunity to understand what is working, what is not working, and go from there.

My Imperfect Morning Habit: Breakfast

Most of my mornings are a rush to start the work day, which can occasionally result in an unhealthy breakfast or no breakfast at all. To automate this important meal of the day, I meal prep ahead so that I do not have to think about it. In recent months, my favorite breakfast is homemade egg frittatas…

--

--

Leyla Novini
The Creativity Quotient

Senior Product/UX Designer, Innovation Strategy Leader, and Creative Entrepreneur, AI/ML design, music nerd, new to the world of improv.