I Completed The Artist’s Way by Julia Cameron

Leyla Novini
The Creativity Quotient
4 min readFeb 27, 2024

--

Last fall, I read and journaled through Julia Cameron’s The Artist’s Way. Her book is a twelve week process of diving into an artist’s creativity with an accompanying journal with prompts as a guide. The purpose is to write in your morning journal every morning for the twelve week period. I decided to go on this journey to generate some new ideas, but I ended up learning so much about my creative self.

The book also encourages the reader to go on weekly artist dates. These adventures are meant to be alone time within creative spaces such as museums, concerts, galleries, and studios to expand on the artistic mindset. I’ll share a recap of my artist dates below.

I’m writing this over three months later as I want to reflect on impact that journey has lead me in the time that has passed.

The Journaling Experience:

The TLDR Thoughts

The daily practice. I appreciated the early mornings so that I could get through the rest of the tasks of my day. I forgave myself if I didn’t have enough time, and relied on the prompts when my mind went blank.

What worked really well for me

It got me to dream bigger and I learned more about what I am capable of. I also noticed how my energy shifted when I became more conscious of my daily work. The early mornings allowed more time for me to get through my usual tasks of the day and made my evening routine much more relaxing.

--

--

Leyla Novini
The Creativity Quotient

Senior Product/UX Designer, Innovation Strategy Leader, and Creative Entrepreneur, AI/ML design, music nerd, new to the world of improv.