Optimal Ways to Boost Your Creative Mind

Leyla Novini
The Creativity Quotient
3 min readMar 28, 2022

--

I’m writing this as the glimpse of spring is upon us. This is the time where I am getting out of hibernation and getting active on the goals I’ve set for the year. This is also a time where I need to consistently remind myself to devote more energy to the side projects that I’m working on and bring to front what I value most to accomplish this year.

However, this transition is not an easy one as I tend to stall and stare blankly into my work as I wonder why I am not generating any ideas. Those creative blocks are quick to set in and veer me off course. This is not a “hustle culture” fear, because I will always advocate for rest, but more of a readiness to put in the work, but not feeling the creative juices flowing.

There are times when I struggle to get myself in the state of flow, what Mihaly Csikszentmihalyi describes as ‘a state in which people are so involved in an activity that nothing else seems to matter.’ So I need to take a step back and take on some things that get me back in to the flow of the creative work that I love doing.

These are some of the things I do to boost my creative mind:

Meditate

Meditation came in tandem as I began my career in product design and it has become a daily practice. My preferred time is in the morning as I am sitting with a glass of water and a mug of coffee, but any opportunity to take a 10 minute break and rest my brain helps me reset and go on with my day with a calmer outlook and less anxiety…

--

--

Leyla Novini
The Creativity Quotient

Senior Product/UX Designer, Innovation Strategy Leader, and Creative Entrepreneur, AI/ML design, music nerd, new to the world of improv.