What is the Most Common Factor in Successful People

Leyla Novini
The Creativity Quotient
4 min readJun 21, 2022

--

Resilience.

Resilience is the ability of a person to bounce back from a setback and overcome adversity. This is the one trait I’ve seen in people that I’ve found inspirational, dedicated to their craft, and what society views as a successful person. These are the individuals who have encountered obstacles and failure to no end and managed to pick themselves back up and achieve amazing things.

Failure is natural, and yet I see so many of my peers stall their lives by doing anything to avoid it. This unfortunately means that taking risks is not a part of who they are. This does not mean that they are slacking, it means that the fear of failure has outweighed their dreams of personal growth. What I’ve seen in those who have experienced failure have taken it as a lesson to drive their next move. These are the individuals that overcome those experiences and built an opportunity for themselves to rise into the great things they’ve accomplished next.

Resilience requires great amounts of emotional intelligence (the ability to manage your emotions, empathy, and understanding people). Our emotional intelligence can be developed through practice and self-awareness.

Upon the stories I’ve read of incredibly inspiring people that I admire, I saw their resilience through their learned…

--

--

Leyla Novini
The Creativity Quotient

Senior Product/UX Designer, Innovation Strategy Leader, and Creative Entrepreneur, AI/ML design, music nerd, new to the world of improv.