Solo and Ensemble Competition

Araliya Dooldeniya
The Crockett Courier
3 min readMay 26, 2020

by Ruby Granados

Solo and Ensemble is a yearly opportunity for kids in music programs to perform a solo, and/or a small ensemble piece and get feedback from a judge. This feedback includes a rating of one to five (one being practically perfect and five being terrible) with the opportunity to advance to State if you receive a one for an advanced level music piece.

For both Band and Choir, this a very exciting event, and many do it to challenge themselves. Even though some just do it for the experience, many students try to get the highest score they can as it’s one of the only chances for individual or group advancement.

The band members have been working really hard to prepare their pieces. Many ensembles and soloists schedule a time to meet up with one of the band directors before/after school or during fit to get feedback or help with their piece. After receiving help/feedback, they will continue working by themselves at home.

The choir members prepare by learning sheet music like tones, pitches, and keys for their piece. They work in sections individually with the choir teacher. They also have rehearsals during class and after school twice a week, the rehearsal after school being an hour and a half long.

As stated before, many people who do Solo and Ensemble do it just for fun or the experience. Choir member and senior Valerie Gonzalez is an example of this, “Performing was a really great experience because not only did I do it with my peers, but I did a solo on my own, which I never thought I would ever do in life and I think I wouldn’t change it.”

Although just the experience is great, most people go to Solo and Ensemble, hoping they can get a high rating and advance. The people who do go to State put in a lot of time to try to perfect their song. In this case, Freshman Kaiden Doetsch and his ensemble, “Overall, I think it went pretty well because we got into State, but there is some stuff that we need to work on.”

Speaking of going to State, seniors who have done Solo and Ensemble before, make it their goal to advance to State in their final year. Let’s take Senior Alejandro Garcia, who has both a solo and an ensemble, as an example. “We prepared by practicing 2–3 times a week together, and I practiced at least four times a day for my solo. This year will be my second time attending the State contest, and we are pulling out a harder ensemble for it.”

Senior Araliya Dooldeniya is another example, “I went to State last year for my solo, so accomplishing that again in my senior year was important to me…I’m really excited to go to State. I’ve gone the past two years, once for an ensemble, and last year for my solo, so it’s a nice way to wrap up my senior year.”

The 2020 State Solo & Ensemble contest has been canceled due to coronavirus, but the band department has accomplished a lot this year.

Crockett Cougar Band advanced to UIL Area Marching competition this year for the second year in a row. Two students in the Crockett Band, Nolan Hart, and Michael Vasquez made first chair bass trombone and bass guitar, respectively, at the 2020 TMEA Region Jazz Ensemble auditions. Band would have sent over 20 students to compete at the state level for the Texas State Solo & Ensemble Contest in May if not for the pandemic.

--

--

Araliya Dooldeniya
The Crockett Courier
0 Followers

Writer and Editor for The Crockett Courier.