Where were they? Teachers & their stories before Crockett

Christina Sauceda
The Crockett Courier
5 min readMay 23, 2022

By Willy Romero

Are you still nervous about getting a summer job? Maybe it’s your first time searching for a job and you’re in the dark. Maybe you have experience but you have no idea what direction to lead into. My fellow classmates can tell you all about where and how to find a summer job! However, if you are curious about which direction you’d like to go continue reading down below to learn all about where teachers first started to where they are now.

Mrs. Muir: English Teacher

“I believe if you do not know what you would like to do, try as many things as you can. Research different internships that could benefit you. Find something that you are going to enjoy. Take me for example, teaching is not something that pays much however, I like to show up every day because I enjoy seeing my students every day. So don’t necessarily focus just on the money aspect. I feel a lot of people find a high-paying job but end up very unhappy doing that job every day. I advise you to find something that will bring you joy even on your darkest days.

My first job post-college was actually this job, I got hired right after I graduated so I started at Crockett in 2010. It was very strange being back at the same school that I graduated from because there were still teachers here that I had for class but it was also very nice because I already knew the place so I enjoyed coming back to teach where I went to school.

A calculated risk I took would when be I decided to choose a small university to go to where I hardly knew anybody. I was the only person from Crockett to go to South Western where I majored in Theatre. But, I overcame this by living on campus in a dorm where I met most of my friends I still socialize with to this day which is amazing. So finding my community and people to have my back was definitely a huge confidence boost while overcoming this obstacle.

For a long time, I’ve always known I wanted to be a teacher but the biggest change was when I went into college thinking that I wanted to teach theatre. Although, after doing my student teaching I realized it was not what I wanted to do so I switched over to teaching English. To this very day, I love my job and feel that it’s the best job in my opinion.”

Ms. Coro: Fine Arts Teacher

“Maybe try to find a career in an area that you’re interested in. If you like to write work in a bookstore, if you like to cook work at a bakery. Set your career focus on something that you will enjoy, and set up your career field with a job that aligns together. Try to get into an area that you may like or one that’s going to give you some time to figure out what you really like. Go for internships! I was never fortunate to have internships as a possibility when I was in school, but yes definitely look for internships. It would be beneficial to get a paid internship but if you can’t still go for it to gain the experience.

I went to three different colleges I went to Austin Community College, UT Austin for one semester then I went back to ACC then finished off in Spain at the University of Madrid. Two years later I went back to UT Austin to get my teaching certification in all level arts K-12 and I majored in Fine Arts. Going to a university in Spain was very different from Austin because in Spain there were no mascot, no school spirit, no colors etc. So, it was definitely an interesting experience to acquire. As going through years of college I didn’t stress out too much with jobs I mainly focused on school work, and I advise students to also follow in that direction.

Upon graduation, I always wanted to be a fashion designer. I loved to sew and try new styles within my own creative art. I also loved the drawing of the clothing. I took some courses in fashion design, but I realized it was really competitive and I didn’t think I had it in me. On the bright side, I always loved to just create art so that is why I decided to just stick with art.

Overall, one of my happiest moments while in this career field would be creating relationships with my kiddos. Honestly, that’s what keeps me going, keeps me happy to continue to teach students creative art and build friendships with my students as well.”

Mr. Morgan: Computer Science Teacher

“Don’t be afraid to do internships, don’t be afraid if a company says ‘oh we’re not going to pay you’ because throughout completing internships you begin to learn a lot of new skills. I wish before I started my company that I had worked for someone who was very successful so I could learn more from his sight of view on things. Rather than learning and figuring things out on my own.

I mowed lawns growing up for little amounts of money but my first job was at a sonic driveway as a fry cook. I actually hated it but it made me enough money to buy a guitar and amp. I wanted to play in a band really bad all I needed was the finances for it and so I worked long enough to buy a real nice guitar. While working there I learned to be really patient with people because customers can be very testy. I had to learn to keep calm and be respectful to others.

I always wanted to be a musician and push into the music industry so, for about four to five years I played in bands. But, after a while, I realized that I was better at the business aspect so I began to actually form a company and release music under that company instead of actually playing music. It took me a few years but I started realizing that was what I wanted to do. I came to teach later on in my career after I already had retired from that music company and I can say I really do enjoy now teaching I have no regrets at all.

If I would’ve known I was going to be in the music industry as a business person I would’ve taken more business classes at Tulsa Community College. I feel that if I would’ve taken maybe one or two more business classes it would have benefited me tremendously. I had to learn about the business aspect in the music industry while I was doing it. So, one hundred percent don’t be afraid of taking classes that could benefit you long term.

From speaking with teachers about how they started their careers after high school I can conclude that everybody’s path is different. Not everyone has the same time frame of success, some will be quick and easy while others will take a while which is just fine. Take advantage of the resources provided, and maintain a plan that you can keep up with. Take college classes that will benefit your career and keep you satisfied which teachers advise you to do so.”

--

--