Poetry

Absinthe

A poem that neglected to pour slowly over sugar

Doodleslice
The Crooked Circle
Published in
2 min readMay 22, 2024

--

A cartoon of a green fairy (associated with Absinthe). She has yellowish wings, a green body, and orange-red hair. She floats in a a cloud of pastel greens and blues over a purple sky. Art by Doodleslice 2024
The Green Fairy, by Doodleslice 2024

Dust
Cakes
Evade
Cardboard
Flattery
Tumesce
Loft
Cascade
Rocks
Pitch
Sins
Abscess
Chew
Green
Chew
Cork
Sink
If you can

___

By Doodleslice 2024–05–22

So, dear friends, welcome to my debut poem for The Crooked Circle. Although I had no hesitation in accepting the invitation from our circumspect editor-in-circumnavigation, Thomas James, I did, however, give some pause to consider whether to extend my “junk drawer” metaphor to this fledgling enterprise.

To the uninitiated who may be asking, “What is this junk drawer you speak of?” You are standing in it — with your eyes, no less (a feat of balance and concentration you are welcome to brag about for the rest of the day, and to all your acquaintances). The junk drawer is the name I have come to use for this habitual space below the…

--

--

Doodleslice
The Crooked Circle

Artist and Poet. Imperfectionist. I hope my poems and art bring you some joy. I believe you should be you - be an interesting Earthling. Be a beacon.