Poetry

Confirmation Bias

I’m glue, and you’re irrelevant.

Thomas James
The Crooked Circle
Published in
2 min readJun 4, 2024

--

surreal painting of a damaged human sculpture with downcast eyes
© Jorm Sangsorn / Adobe Stock

If you find me unappealing,
I agree.
If you think that I’m unfeeling,
oh that I could be so free.
I am working on repealing
triggered states that send me reeling,
but for now, I’m just concealing
their degree.

If you see that I’m defective,
so do I.
Doesn’t take a skilled detective
or a trained and practiced eye.
Though I come off introspective,
you can’t tell from your perspective
that it’s all autoinvective
and goodbye.

If you want to keep your distance,
that seems best.
My emotional subsistence
will fall short of any test.
There’s no purpose to persistence;
I will blemish your existence,
and you’ll celebrate my riddance
like the rest.

© Thomas James 2024. All Rights Reserved.

--

--

Thomas James
The Crooked Circle

Poet, Essayist, Humorist, Reader, Learner, Editor, Publisher, Aquarist, Coloradan, INTJ-A, Absurdist, Determinist? (TBD)