Poetry

On Good Authority

A poem scrubbed away before it was written

Doodleslice
The Crooked Circle
Published in
3 min readMay 28, 2024

--

A cartoon of a figure with a big nose facing slightly upwards with closed eyes. Face in profile. Holding a cup of coffee. The figure is very minimally drawn, just enough to evoke the form of someone sitting cross-legged. In the background, which can be seen right through the figure, are some very loosely brushed in clouds over a pale blue sky. Art by Doodleslice 2024.
Blue Coffee, by Doodleslice 2024

What color is the blueblue sky?
How does this blue
Stain my cherry pie?
I drink my coffee blue
No sugar
No questions
A blue pencil
Can’t answer

If I wrote blue
Instead of blue
And rubbed all the words away
A pink eraser
Would be blue too
Sky blueblue

And nothing to show for it
Save dirty blue nubblings
Every word they ate
Kneaded to be blue
Until they weren’t kneaded anymore

___

By Doodleslice 2024–05–28

Hello again.

It’s me, the steward of the junk drawer, coming at ya on a Monday-ish Tuesday morning, post holiday. I had a lovely Memorial Day visiting my local botanical gardens with some friends. The flowers were duly spectacular. The weather surprisingly nice considering that only a few hours earlier it was entirely cats and dogs. So on the one…

--

--

Doodleslice
The Crooked Circle

Artist and Poet. Imperfectionist. I hope my poems and art bring you some joy. I believe you should be you - be an interesting Earthling. Be a beacon.