Poetry

Rewrites

freefab verse on a concrete slab

Thomas James
The Crooked Circle
Published in
1 min readMay 21, 2024

--

Please excuse the unsightly code block, but it’s the only way this poem will lay out properly on Medium. -TJ

If
I tell the tale a hundred times
a thousand times
one more time
it ends
the same.

If
I try a different meter
a novel metaphor
a harder rhyme
it ends
the same.

If
I focus on the pain
the regret
the anger
it ends
the same.

If
I draw forth tears
distribute epiphanies
get a laugh
it ends
the same.

If
I have a change of heart
find a new angle
reinterpret facts
it ends
the same.

If
I don’t rewrite it today
don’t reweave it tomorrow
don’t jiggle the shards until they line up just so
maybe it ends.

© Thomas James 2024. All Rights Reserved.

For the Curious: I’ve been spending a lot of time thinking about rumination lately. Do you think that’s a problem?

--

--

Thomas James
The Crooked Circle

“If there is to be reconciliation, first there must be truth.” —Timothy B. Tyson