poem | eulogy

Old Horses Go out to Pasture

on emissions failure

Wolf Eberhardt
The Crooked Circle
Published in
2 min readMay 22, 2024

--

Photo by Nik on Unsplash

Let me tell you about the rivers moving…!
Moving
Move… they move
Like snakes ~~~,
Oh yes, like snakes they’re moving
sssssssslllowlyyyyy

Down the open field!…

Slowly now…!

Keep it going…..

Used to ride in an ’02 Avalon
Caravanning my ghosts around
………
………(slowly)
………
Used to ride in an ’02 Avalon
Caravanning my ghosts around
Down the 135 and Southern State
One hundred thirty miles
To the thousandth
I was young and I was hanging on
Is that why you
Is that why you
Is that why you didn’t want a second date..?

I was growing up slowly.

Real slow like, honey

Something happened to the chariot’s soul
?Computer?Transmission?
Nobody knows
Or knew
I pushed her out to pasture
By the soles…

--

--

Wolf Eberhardt
The Crooked Circle

Poet; Embellisher; Long Islander; The so-called editor of Iceberg's Poetry; Aspiring absurd hero.