The Virginity Not Taken

A reminder

Juliet James
The Crooked Circle

--

A musical staff written on what looks like a blackboard with cherries as music notes
Photo by Giorgi Iremadze on Unsplash

I would not be persuaded, rushed or
Uncertain of my choice
I said no loudly and often,
to you and to others
Having seen too many friends say yes
because they were afraid to say no
I decided that I would not have regrets when I chose
Not of who or when or where
So on that sultry August night
when I made known my desire
It was I who took what you had freely offered for years
I acted out of lust, out of wistful wanting
I’d been taught to fear those feelings
but reclaimed them in that moment
I wanted liberation, not romance
and did not care that our friend was in the next room
Unabashed in the way of 17
Cheers to us, young and wild
Not your first
Not my last
And I have never wished it any other way
Than exactly how it was

Author’s notes: Sometimes being Gen X feels strange. I’m young enough (humor me) to be open

--

--

Juliet James
The Crooked Circle

Words are my superpower. She/Her. Queer. Pan. Wife, dog mom, MFA candidate in Creative Non-Fiction with a Narrative Medicine track. Unapologetically me.