Unrequited

Mostly an excuse to share some fun poetry prompts

Allisonn Church
The Crooked Circle

--

Photo by Gaelle Marcel on Unsplash

The sky feels heavy and
my head feels heavy and
my chest feels heavy and
I can’t exactly breathe so
I retreat to my cozy bed
and fall asleep.
While I am sleeping, my bed
wakes up.

To be honest, she hates me:
I am heavy and sad and
my elbows poke her in the ribs.
She bucks and rolls and spits;
I don’t sleep well, but
I think it’s because my body
is too difficult and too broken
to find comfort. I’ve never loved
my body, but I do love
my bed.

I snuggle deeply into her quilted folds:
she sighs, harrumphs, grumbles,
tosses me and turns me.
How frustrating for her
that I never read her signals;
that I just keep coming back
for more.

An errant foot catches
on a gash in my bottom sheet and
now I am an animal caught in a…

--

--

Allisonn Church
The Crooked Circle

⛅️ 🍃 www.wildchurchpoems.com 🍃 ⛅️ "A single sunbeam is enough to drive away many shadows." — Francis of Assisi