Doing a Kickstarter Campaign (page)

MS
The Crowdfunding Handbook
2 min readNov 12, 2015

I launched a card game on Kickstarter a few days ago and although we have completed about 50% of our goal, I feel the need to share a few personal take aways.

Here are the things I did to prepare the campaign:

  1. Work on my card game prototype.
  2. Find similar projects in my category and try to understand the difference between success and failure (funding goal, rewards, content of campaign description, etc.).
  3. Contact other people who have had successful campaigns and ask them to explain what they did differently.
  4. Identify my target audience and prepare my reach out with relevant material and personal messages (blogs, influencers, etc).
  5. Spend hours writing and rewriting the campaign description. Delete sections, create new ones, ask for my friends to proofread.
  6. Work three nights in a row on a silly one minute video.
  7. Find the best way to produce the game. Get quotes from all the potential factory in the universe.
  8. Estimate the costs, and then estimate again after taking into account what could go wrong : fulfillment, reprints, wrong adresses, wrong credit card details, etc.

And here are the things I would do if I had to do it all over again:

  1. Work on my card game prototype.
  2. Spend hours, days, weeks making my campaign page viral.
  3. Spend hours, days, weeks making my campaign video viral.

You want your campaign page to be so good that people naturally talk about it, share it to their friends and back the project. I know it sounds totally obvious but that’s really what you should focus on. The rest is not difficult.

A quick word about the card game I am launching:

It is called Cattle Battle and it is an English-language adaptation of a classic prize winning card game called Kuhhandel (cow trading), which was created by two Germans in 1985.

We think this game combines all the things that make a great card game: simplicity, fun, entertainment, and intensity.

Feel free to take a look at the campaign page and leave your feedback here

The campaign => CATTLE BATTLE

Melchior

--

--

MS
The Crowdfunding Handbook

Co-creator of @xobetov, @app_voice, @directcitoyen. Exploring the future of voting.