Why You Need Galaxy Tab S8 Mini

Masnun Jamil
THE CROWN

--

There is an issue with Samsung’s tablet lineup. They currently sell ten different models.

We have the lower end Tab A7, A7 Lite, and A8, and then there’s the entire Tab S line, starting with the Tab S6 Lite, all the Tab S7 models, and finally the most recent options, the Tab S8, S8 Plus, and S8 Ultra. The Tab S8 Mini, a small, powerful, and premium tablet, is missing.

Samsung offers a wide range of tablet sizes, beginning with the 8.7-inch Tab A7 Lite and progressing to the 14.6-inch Tab S8 Ultra, but they should be a direct competitor to Apple’s extremely popular iPad Mini 6.

If you only consider size, the Tab A7 Lite footprint is excellent. We can get a longer but narrower tablet than the iPad Mini 6, which is consistent with Samsung tablets, which have an aspect ratio optimized for watching movies and videos. Now, here are a few things I’d change. So, first and probably most important, I would update the design to reflect that of the Tab S8, with narrower bezels around, rounded corners, and squared-off edges. This will give us a more rich look and may simply make the tablet a little smaller while preserving the display size. Next, I would increase the number of speakers on the Tab S8 from two to four. That will provide us with better audio than the iPad Mini 6,

Ipad mini 6, source: apple.com

and it will provide stereo sound regardless of whether you hold the tablet in portrait or landscape mode, resulting in a better experience when watching movies or playing games.

I’m still looking for a 3.5 mm headphone jack. When we’re finished, this is going to be an amazing gaming tablet, and having the option of a wired headphone or a headset makes life so much easier. A headphone jack is required for low-latency gaming. The use of a USB-C dongle may get the job done, but it is not as convenient as a headphone jack. It would also be an added advantage for the Tab S8 Mini over the iPad Mini.

iPad 9th gen with headphone jack

Let’s move on to the display, and this is where I’m not going to cut corners. So the Tab A7 Lite has a good display for a budget tablet, but that’s not what we’re looking for here; we’re looking for a small but high-quality tablet. This is a difficult decision for me because I believe the display on the Tab S8 is excellent, but it is not the super AMOLED display found on the Tab S8 Plus or Ultra. I’d be fine with either, but if we could get a super AMOLED display, that would be incredible and would mean that we’d be getting vibrant colors, deeper blacks, and HDR10 Plus support, giving it the edge over the iPad Mini 6.

I would love to have an in-display fingerprint sensor as we have on the Tab S8 Plus and the Ultra, but if it’s too expensive and we need to replace it with a power button implementation, I don’t see why that would be a deal-breaker.

The new Samsung Galaxy Tab S8 will have a Qualcomm Snapdragon 801 processor, which is more powerful and more efficient than the previous processors. This means that it’s going to be able to run any game that we wanna play, from “PUBG” to “Genshin”, to “Asphalt”, and then, of course, any of the less demanding games. It will also allow us to run Dex — a feature that lets you boot your tablet up with a desktop-like user interface. Dex is a fantastic idea, and I believe it will significantly increase our productivity.

Samsung’s new tablet, the expected S8 lite, should have a 3.5-millimeter headphone jack, a USB-C port for charging and accessories, and long-term support for all major operating systems and security updates. One accessory that’s missing from the tablet that I would want most is an S Pen, and I don’t want the smaller one that we get with the S 22 Ultra or even the medium-sized with Z Fold edition.

In terms of the camera system, I’m not going to be too demanding or picky.

If you can give me the same camera system that we have on the larger current models, with the 13 megapixel wide and the 6-megapixel ultra-wide, that’s great, but if this is an area where Samsung might save a little money and then keep the price relatively low, I’m fine with only going with one camera.

In terms of the front-facing camera, we’d love to see the same 12 mp sensor found here on Tab S8 and Tab S8 Plus.

For me, the camera systems on my tablets are not a critical feature. I mostly use them for scanning documents, because for everything else, I’m going to use my phone. After all, the cameras are going to be better and it’s also more comfortable to use, so if I had to prioritize where money is going to be spent, I’d spend it on the phone.

I’d prefer for Samsung to invest in the display, the speakers, or the battery,

Before we get into the price and storage options, let’s take a look at one of the most important features.

Now I’m desperate for a micro SD card slot in my new tablet. This is a feature found on higher-end Samsung tablets that allows you to increase internal storage by up to one terabyte for a relatively low cost. This storage can be used for files and photos, but you can also transfer apps from the tablet’s internal storage to the micro SD card.

Samsung DEX mode

Now, I’ve done this with a variety of apps and games, and I haven’t noticed any discernible difference in performance.

Suppose that this new tablet is available with 128 or 256 gigabytes of storage. Imagine being able to add a full terabyte for less than a hundred dollars. Not only would you have significantly more storage, but you could also postpone purchasing it until you need it, reducing your initial investment. And, while we’re on the subject of money, how much do you think this new tablet should cost? The 128-gigabyte Tab S8 is available for $649. The 64-gigabyte iPad Mini 6 costs $499 without a microSD card slot. If you want 256 GB of data on your iPad Mini, the prices increase to $649. So, if Samsung could price the 128GB Tab S8 Mini at $599 and the 256GB model at $649, I think that would be a great deal. Also, don’t forget that you’ll be receiving an S Pen, which will increase the overall value. And, if you had the option, would you change anything about this design or add any features?

Please let me know.

I’m a new author. If you appreciate my stories and writings, please follow me on Medium. Here https://medium.com/@jamil.masnun

--

--

Masnun Jamil
THE CROWN

I’m a medical student and a new writer seeking to fine tune my skill.