Hope Chest

I made this, it was all mine -

I shouted as they tried

To rip the ornate box from my angry grasp.

I held on with a bony, death grip

Thinking it unfair

That universe could be so cruel

As to steal the very thing

I worked so hard to fashion and create.

The battle raged on

And eventually my hands grew tired,

My fingers ached, weak from clinging

Onto the precious package

That now felt dead in my arms.

Eventually, I gave up

And handed over the case

Fooling myself

That I didn’t want it any more.

But, at the moment of surrender,

The strangest thing happened…

All the jewels, gold, and filigree

Fell away

Until the chest torn

Out of my worried hands

Was returned to me

Simple, clear and unencumbered,

Empty with unfettered potential.

--

--

Josef Bastian
The Cryptofolk Movement

Josef Bastian is an author, human performance practitioner and often an odd duck.