What Remains

Antelope Shred
The Crystal Palace
Published in
1 min readJan 27, 2021

Poetry of futures lost, and relationships written about from within a
dreaming mind

The dreaming mind (Photo by Catherine Stewart)

It took me 3 years
To remove your teeth
Embedded deep in my thigh

Your hair reminded me
Of dried flowers in a summer field
Your skin of wood grain
Weather-beaten and dry

I wanted to see your skull
From within
If only to understand
Where your thoughts began

When I took out the leftovers last night
While the rain tapped its rhythm
on the plastic sheet outside
I felt my frustration rise once again
As I remembered the chill
that was all that remained
Of the future we once had

Your glassy stare
While wine splattered on the floor
I attempted to master my feelings
But the cramps took hold instead

I could have blamed my choices
While I listened to you dictate
Our relationship plans
Peeling back the tin lid
That had once contained our fears

Never meant to last
That’s what they often said
I deny them to this day
Knowing in some way,
You are with me to the end

--

--