Remembering the Classic TV Show Bonanza

To celebrate the new podcast on Earwolf dedicated to the classic 60s western, I’m highlighting 5 fantastic episodes of one of my all time favorite TV shows

Charlene DeKalb
The Culture Corner

--

L-R Pernell Roberts, Michael Landon, Dan Blocker and Lorne Greene

When I heard that the podcasting network Earwolf was producing a new podcast titled “Bonanas for Bonanza” discussing the classic TV show, I was so excited. This show is one of my favorites. I don’t know many people who love the series as I do (a fair point considering it is over sixty years old) but after this podcast I do hope to find more people who have fond memories of Bonanza.

My own history with the TV program began when I was about eleven or twelve. One night, my mom put on a re-run of it while we were eating dinner and somehow I just became obsessed. Other TV shows have become near and dear to me since then, but a little piece of my nostalgic heart will always belong to Bonanza. It was a Western-themed show featuring the Cartwright family — father Ben (Lorne Greene) and his three sons Adam (Pernell Roberts), Hoss (Dan Blocker) and Little Joe (Michael Landon). Every episode detailed some wrong they had to right or some fun adventure on or near their beautiful ranch called the Ponderosa. The show premiered on NBC in 1959 and ran for 14 seasons/431 episodes.

--

--

Charlene DeKalb
The Culture Corner

I’m a research scientist who still likes to write for fun. Looking for adventure in the great wide somewhere. Reader, traveler, & Disney enthusiast. @chardekalb