The 2020 Halftime Show Isn’t About Objectifying Women

It’s a courageous display of women taking up space

Cara Harbstreet (She/Her)
The Culture Corner

--

Image by Roy Harryman from Pixabay

If you haven’t heard the news yet, the Kansas City Chiefs won Super Bowl LIV. After a 50 year drought, it’s fair to say the city is buzzing with a kind of energy we haven’t seen in a long, long time.

As I listened to fireworks, chanting, and triumphant celebrations in the streets outside my building, I reflected on something likely far from the minds of most. I’ll be the first to admit I’m not an avid sports fan — I couldn’t even be described as a fair-weather Chiefs fan despite having lived in Kansas City for nearly my entire life. But I am a fan of supporting women, which is why I tuned in to stream the halftime show, and the halftime show only.

Shakira and Jennifer Lopez absolutely killed it.

I was in awe of that performance.

And I wasn’t alone, although some people don’t agree with me. Social media, texts from friends, hot takes and early reviews. The internet was ablaze with opinions ranging the entire spectrum, from reverence and “Girl Power!” to slut-shaming and petitions for a GoFund Me to purchase pants for the performers.

Many were quick to claim this was an overt display of hyper-sexualized women flaunting their assets on camera and…

--

--

Cara Harbstreet (She/Her)
The Culture Corner

Lover of carbs and puns, call me Cara Carbstreet | Anxious Millennial | Coffee Enthusiast | Non-diet Dietitian