Why I disappeared from Medium

The real reason I stopped trying to grow on this platform

Dante R.A.
The Culture Current
3 min readNov 19, 2023

--

Photo by Andrea Piacquadio: https://www.pexels.com/photo/woman-sitting-on-chair-while-leaning-on-laptop-3791136/

I know it isn’t too uncommon for me to take long breaks from posting on this site. But it isn’t just me taking a mental health break this time. This time I’m truly giving up on this site. And there's a three main reasons why.

  1. The site does not seem to like to content I like to post
  2. The site isn’t worth posting on
  3. I’m trying to build my own website for myself

So lets slowly go over each reason

1. The site does not seem to like to content I like to post

Medium has a certain algorithm like most sites similar to it. And I am certain that the content that I like to post does not favor the algorithm. The algorithm likes to promote anything from lazy/spam driven articles, to articles that only casual readers like to read. Things like Lifestyle articles or articles about Productivity. Basic things that anyone can get behind. But at its worst it seems that Top 10 ways to get more views and similar things like it seem to dominate everything.

The worst comes when you try and deviate from mainstream news and opinions and write your own narrative. God forbid you have a differing opinion from the website. Like most social media and influencer based websites, I am most likely shadow banned on Medium. Now that isn’t an excuse, there are plenty of people who break out of the shadow banning process and reach a wide audience. I just don’t think its worth the uphill struggle when I could be working on other things.

2. The site isn’t worth posting on

The monetary incentives on this site is completely ruined and not worth pursuing. I have never made much more than a single dollar from some of my best performing articles. I don’t think Medium cares about this. If they did they would do more than just allow some articles to be cherry picked so they can get more views and money. Medium could very easily make a very non-intrusive ad system to help pay writers on this site like many have asked for. Instead they burry their head in the sand and hope that people paying a monthly fee will save this dying site. Ads make the world go around and there isn’t enough money to go around this site. Twitter, or X as its now called, is a much better place to earn a living writing than Medium ever is. Which is good I hope X continues to eat Medium’s lunch. Maybe when the make a good system for people to make money then I will actually come back.

3. I’m trying to build my own website for myself

I think I’ve outgrown Medium and its shackles. It’s time I make my own site. And I’m currently in the process of doing so. It will take a bit before the website is complete. I will let everyone on here know when I do. I hope to see you on the newsletter when it does launch. It will have minimal ads and a chance to set myself apart from Medium.

That and I am trying to build a presence on X (Twitter). I don’t have much followers on there right now. And I would like to post more there as well. If your interested in following me on Twitter this is my account @dante_avena. Be warned I sometimes make some edgy jokes/hot takes. Don’t take most of what I say too seriously. But I would love to see you follow me there so I have more of a reach.

That’s all I really wanted to say in this post. I might post just a few more times before I leave medium for good or have something that doesn’t fit my website all too well. If anyone wants to say anything nice to keep me on Medium now would be the right time.

--

--

Dante R.A.
The Culture Current

Some say culture is downstream from politics. Well, I'm going to write about both. From World Politics to video games and other nerd culture, all are here.