How These Ten Branches Can Help You Sprout Into a Successful Digital Marketer
Blossoming into your career takes time — here’s how you can swing up faster
You see, folks, whether we know it or not, digital marketing surrounds us everywhere.
Imagine digital marketing as a unique tree. It’s a tree that offers its growers and consumers several fruits, so make sure to maintain it and give it time! In other words, when digital marketing is done right, the end-user should have a savory experience and acquire growth. That’s why we eat fruits, right?
Alright, listen up, fellow aspiring digital marketers. Before you begin your digital marketing journey, here are a few essential tips! Like the fruit reference made above, the life of a digital marketer heavily relies on its branches. To become a successful digital marketer, you must have the strength (experience) in various channels (branches). For starters, specialize in one channel. As you grow your skills, you can take on the role of two or more branches and become a T-shape marketer. However, for today’s case, we’re going to focus on specializing in one channel. As you take your first dip into the pool of digital marketing, it may be wise to specialize in one branch at a time. Once your skills sharpen and develop, more roles can be taken on, which would promote you to become a T-shape marketer. Stay tuned as I elaborate on these nutrient-dense branches.
Search Engine Optimization is the backbone of digital marketing. It gets your website to rank high on Google’s top page. Whenever you do a Google search, the results you come across are what you call SEO.
Every day, consumers don’t go looking for information beyond Google’s first page. A silly marketing phrase but true goes like this: “The best place to hide a dead body is on Google’s second page.”
The best things in life are free, and in this case, it’s organic traffic, aka free traffic. If you’ve something to share on the web, then make sure it’s SEO friendly; otherwise, ain’t nobody got time for that.
There are various SEO components, but three important ones are On-page SEO, Off-page SEO, and Technical SEO. Here is some information on each:
All of the content you see on a website is On-page SEO. Effective On-page SEO consists of well-researched keywords that have the right amount of search volume. Search volume depends on your situation. For example, if you’re starting, then it’s best to optimize for keywords that have low search volume.
Keywords with low search volume keywords have low-competition; thus, it gives you time to build domain authority. Make sure to research keywords that match the consumer’s search intent. For example, consumers flock to the Internet for answers, so plan to create content that solves questions. It helps to build domain authority. Domain authority is a ranking score that measures how dominant and credible a website when it comes to search engine results.
If you’re a king/queen of throwing parties, then boy, people must love you and look up to you for a lit time. The same goes for websites when it comes to establishing an image. Off-page SEO is all about the party coming to you. The party people love to spread the word of your parties and bring more troopers along with them.
The people for Off-page SEO correlate to backlinks. The number of backlinks your website has helps to establish domain authority. When other reputable sources link back to your website, Google is a happy camper. They’re telling Google, “Hey, if you’re looking for the perfect place to party, this website is it.” Google loves to rank websites that are credible and reputable high.
After all, Google is an online yellow book that loves positive customer experience. The goal is here to build as many backlinks as possible. For example, networking and collaborating with publishers and getting them to send backlinks helps. Another way is to reach out to publishers and ask to guest write. Guest writing can help send backlinks from a reputable website. Google’s search bots will be swarming to your website like a pack of honeybees.
If you’re a fan of detail and love to be hands-on, then Technical SEO might be something you’d enjoy. Technical SEO focuses on the nitty-gritty details that take place on the backend of your website. It comprises how your website pages are coded, image compression, page speed, CLS score, structured data, and CSS file optimization.
Think of Technical SEO as the brains of your website. Proper Technical SEO makes Google happy, and Google will be eager to push your website to the top. Now it sounds easy, but there is a lot that goes into it. The best way to stay on top of it is by scheduling routine checks based on the timeframe that works best for you.
2. Content Marketing:
Bill Gates once famously said, “Content is king!” He was right about that. Content Marketing is about delivering value to the consumers through enticing, creative, and informative content. Content marketing helps out with generating brand awareness, traffic growth, and conversions.
How so? Behold, the power of content marketing. Consumers flock to the internet for numerous reasons. The primary search intent is to acquire knowledge about a specific topic, product, or service. Your content should match the customer’s search intent. The way to go about it is to follow the customer’s buying journey and create content that appeals to them.
There are many digital marketing tools out there that provide data on what consumers search. For example, Google Trends and Google Search Console are great tools to see what keywords and key phrases are getting the most action. By taking that data, you can create content pieces such as blog posts, ebooks, whitepapers, videos, charts, infographics, and newsletters. Consumers have short attention, to begin with, so make sure to create eye-catching content that grabs their attention.
Consumers love these pieces of content because they are delivering what the consumer wants. Imagine a consumer wants to buy a Tesla Model 3, but they don’t know much about it. They then do a Google search for a Tesla Model 3. After they come across a Tesla Model 3 blog post, they digest that information and decide if they want a product. If they move forward, then they will require more details. Usually, it’s written, or there is a video that covers testimonials, reviews, performance. Ultimately, these pieces of information will help factor in the buyer’s purchase decision. Video helps to go over the product in more detail and is excellent for covering post-purchase matters, such as troubleshooting.
Blog posts are a great place to start because it allows you to structure your content based on the customer’s buying journey. It follows the buyer from the day they have an intent to buy, to purchase date, and after the purchase. Catchy headlines are a big plus! Next, have a copy that contains the appropriate keywords and key phrases that match your consumer’s buying stage.
Remember, we’re living in a particular time where a plethora of consumers are at home. Consumers, whether they’re students, unemployed, retired, or unemployed, are engaging more on their phones. Cherish this moment by understanding your consumer’s needs and deliver what they want.
3. Social Media Marketing:
Where the action takes place! The homeland of the oohs, ahhs, glamour, buzz, and where you catch the latest gossip! Welcome to social media marketing. Social media marketing is second nature for marketers and consumers. You can’t have a successful marketing strategy without it. Almost the entire world uses social media every day! Facebook roughly has 2.8 billion daily users, and Instagram alone has more than 1 billion users! If those numbers don’t scream at you, then something is wrong with you! #sorrynotsorry.
Social media is a digital marketer’s haven thanks to the large volume of daily users. It’s the best place to be because that’s where most of the action is taking place. Social media is a great way to leverage promoting your brand, content, increasing brand awareness, driving traffic, and generating new leads. Social media management tools such as Hootsuite, Buffer, and Sprout Social ease the burden of manually posting daily. It allows you to schedule your posts for up to several months.
The best channels to use for social media marketing are:
Content marketing and social media marketing go hand in hand, so utilize your content pieces on your social media channels. Social media channels are also a great place to use as support channels. Twitter, for instance, is the preferred go-to channel for customer support because of its layout — it makes it easy to receive and deliver information.
Thanks to the high volume of daily users, digital marketers have many means to keep users engaged throughout the day. Contests are not only fun but also they help to generate new leads and help out with brand awareness. Contests are essential because they help increase more followers, sales, engagement, receive user-generated content, ideas, and help bring in more organic traffic. The best way is to push your users to participate by having an enticing gift, simple rules, and an urgent deadline. Enticing gifts can include a trip, gift card, or a tangible product. The rules should be short and require the users to do the following:
- Leave a caption
- Leave a comment
- Submit content
- Tag a friend
An urgent deadline such as a week combined with a meaningful giveaway prompts users to submit quickly. NBC Dateline wanted to increase their Facebook likes to one million from 300k. The giveaway prize was a chance to come to NBC Dateline. The winner got a chance to meet with the team, speak with Lestor Holt, and address the nation as an anchor. For some users, that’s a lifetime dream, but having a deadline of one week was all it took to reach that goal.
4. Pay-Per-Click (PPC):
Retargeting helps out marketers by reaching consumers who are close to completing the funnel. All that marketing effort, why let it go to waste, right? I mean, think about most of the time, only 2% of consumers convert the first time they visit a website. Retargeting allows for marketers to reach 98% of consumers who didn’t convert at first. Think about the chances of getting conversions now! #thankmelater
The best retargeting you can do is by using:
- Google Ads
- Facebook Ads Manager
- Twitter Ads
- LinkedIn Ads
- Pinterest Ads
- Snapchat Ads
- TikTok Ads
Sure, using PPC can get costly, but it brings in positive ROI! Imagine a shop that sells kayaks. Let’s say they set their monthly ad spend budget roughly around $14000. They sold fifty kayaks at $2000 a pop. Their ROAS (return on ad spend) for the month is 710%, and their ACOS (advertising cost of sales) is 14%. PPC has that much power, so don’t shy away from it because it annoys consumers hehe.
5. E-mail Marketing:
Back in the day, you used to hear, “You got mail,” every time you received an e-mail. Remember, AOL? #RIPAOL Today, you hear a little chime whenever you receive an e-mail. It’s not the same as before, but at least you get notified. Alright, where were we? Ah, yes, we were talking about e-mail marketing. E-mail marketing is a stealthy way to engage with consumers. For the most part, it’s more informative than spammy.
It’s a great way to stay connected with your consumers by sending them:
- customer welcome e-mails
- blog posts
- follow-up e-mails
- support-related e-mails.
A neat feature of e-mail marketing is you can schedule content similar to content and social media marketing. Setting up an e-mail drip campaign saves you time tremendously and helps to serve your consumer’s anticipation regarding new content. For instance, sending them quarterly newsletters about updates on the company’s progress, upcoming new products and services, coupons, and tips. It’s impactful to leverage during the holiday season. Think about the last-minute shoppers!
6. Video Marketing:
Lights, camera, action! The three words every actor wants to hear. The same goes for digital marketers. Video marketing is one of the hottest marketing channels right now, and it’s only going to get hotter! Especially during this pandemic, many people have more time on their hands and are consuming video like there’s no tomorrow. In 2016, marketers Neil Patel and Eric Siu had mentioned on one of their podcast episodes that video marketing would become prominent in 2020. It’s interesting how good that comment was despite COVID-19 occurring.
Video marketing is tactful to implement at all stages of the marketing funnel. Testimonial videos are useful to present during the initial phase of the customer’s buying journey and the consideration stage. Consumers love to research, and the more surety they discover, the higher the chance they will convert.
Overall, video marketing makes it easy to promote and market your product or service. It can help to increase engagement on your digital and social channels, educate your consumers, and reach your audience with a vivid channel.
7. Affiliate Marketing:
When you’re so talented, you can sell pens to anybody like Jordan Belfort from the movie “The Wolf of Wall Street.” People listen to successful people because they not only trust that person but also see them as authoritative.
If you’re a subject matter expert, you can leverage your knowledge to get people to buy products in affiliate marketing. Affiliate marketing is about promoting a company’s products or services on your website and receiving a commission.
For example, if you’re a successful YouTuber, you can make money through affiliate marketing. Companies use affiliate marketing to get more sales with the help of influencers.
Companies can tap into a larger audience through the influencer’s recommendation. Common ways an affiliate marketer demonstrates the product is through their YouTube channels, websites, conferences, or social media accounts.
8. Native Advertising:
One of the best ways for paid content to get clicked is through native advertising. Native advertising promotes paid ads that resemble organic posts.
According to Outbrain, a web advertising platform notes that three essential factors support native advertising.
1. Consumers look at native ads 53% more than display ads, and native ads create an 18% increase in purchase intent.
2. Native advertising fights ad fatigue. Ad fatigue occurs when consumers are worn out by seeing multiple ads in a short amount of time.
3. Consumers can distinguish between native ads and organic posts. They don’t sway from them as long as the content is enticing and exciting.
9. Online PR:
PR is an immortal field. It has been around since the beginning of civilization, and it’s known to work! An excellent way for marketers to build credibility is by working with an online PR firm.
An online PR can aid in covering digital publications, blogs, and content-based websites. One way to get online PR is by reaching out and talking to journalists on Twitter. Building relationships with online PR professionals is vital. Also, engaging with consumers who leave product reviews or comments will serve you well in the long-run.
10. Sponsored Content:
Like affiliate marketing, sponsored content is when you pay another company to create and promote your content. A common way is to work with an influencer. According to HubSpot, when marketers sponsor content from trusted publishers, they see a 50% higher brand awareness.
As expressed, digital marketing encompasses various branches. Brace yourself as the job will compellingly mold you into an efficient and ferocious multi-tasker. Before you dive in, find one channel that suits you well and excel in it. Perfecting in one branch is all it takes for your career as a Digital Marketer to begin to flourish.
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