The boy who cried wolf

TCP
The Curious Potato
Published in
1 min readJun 25, 2020

The boy who cried wolf is a story that many of us would know. It’s about a boy who treks up to the mountain and cries for help, and everyone comes to help. But to his dismay, he did it once too many times and when he actually needed help, no one believed it and didn’t come to rescue him.

Recently, I watched this unveil in real life. This boy, who cried wolf once too many times, lost the trust of his peers. People questioned whether it was true, what their intention was, and whether he was faking it as an ulterior motive.

As much as I was empathetic and the story tugged on my heartstrings, I too had a mini-me inside of me asking “is this true”. Am I gullible in believing this may be true, or should I follow everyone else who is questioning whether this is true?

The story of the boy who cried wolf teaches us not to lie, it teaches us there’s a finite amount of lies that humans can take, and once you cross that border, the trust diminishes. But as I grow older, this “finite amount of lies” isn’t just about lies. It’s can be applied to many other things too.

--

--