Uncharted territories

TCP
The Curious Potato
Published in
2 min readMar 17, 2020

Those that are new are probably better than you

Growing up, my parents was a real stickler when it came to grammar. It may be because we’re not native English speakers and they wanted me to be fluent, or it may be because of where they came from, English = grammar.

At the back of my head, I’ve always felt I’m quite weak in grammar. That when I draft something people will notice and call me out on my poor grammar. I felt my grammar isn’t that great because of how hard I’ve always found my grammar homework in grade school. Somehow, I just can’t figure out what’s a past participle to a verb to an adjective?

What’s interesting about this is when I started working after graduation, and I realize grammar isn’t that big of an issue….most people don’t know grammar like the back of their hand. If it looks good enough it’ll pass. The only sticklers are the non-native speakers. I think it’s because this is an uncharted territory for them, so they’re willing to put more time and effort in learning the art than someone who has it naturally and taken for granted.

It reminds me of a story where a colleague had send out a draft for her committee to review, and the only person that had grammar feedback was the non-native speaker, and was able to pinpoint passive-active voice, past principles, etc. She knew her grammar well. I think it’s because she had to learn the land since this was a new territory for her.

Don’t take your territories for granted, and don’t be biased towards those that are new to the land. They’re probably better than you.

--

--