The Difficulties of Book Writing

Alex Bentley
The Curious Reader
Published in
6 min readAug 20, 2021

--

Photo by Corinne Kutz on Unsplash

A self-published author’s guide to writing and publishing a book

Now that I’ve written and self-published 5 books, I think I’m well-suited to tell aspiring authors about the difficulties of book writing, and how you can overcome them. In this article, I’ll describe the challenges of writing and getting your new book to market.

But first, let me share my book writing and publishing experience.

In 2015, I set out to publish my first book, but the year passed me by and my book never materialized. I even tried publishing with a vanity press, where I paid them money to edit, organize, design, and publish the book. But that company went out of business and they needed to refund back my money.

2016 also came and went without me publishing a book.

But it wasn’t until 2017 that something lit a fire under me and I felt inspired to write my first book. That something was a medical emergency where I almost died in my doctor’s office during a routine procedure. Sparking me to have an epiphany that I needed to live out my dream as an author. Even if it meant grinding through a 9-to-5 job at the same time.

That year I wrote and self-published 4 books, releasing them all within a 90-day period. Although on the surface from pumping out…

--

--

Alex Bentley
The Curious Reader

I write about crypto, personal finance, business & tech. Also, I publish a bit of humor to make you laugh.