The Excitement of Moving to a New Country

Alex Bentley
The Curious Reader
Published in
3 min readOct 4, 2021

--

Jeepney on the streets of Metro Manila, Philippines

What’s it like to live in a foreign country?

I’m currently in the Philippines, in Bauan, Batangas province, where I’ve just moved permanently with my lovely wife. We thought it would be good to live close to her family, especially since we’re expecting a child.

I previously lived in Costa Rica, where I stayed for nearly seven months renting homes and apartments on Airbnb.

I visited Mexico City in June for two weeks. Because I had to leave Costa Rica in order to renew my visa. Foreigners can only stay in Costa Rica for a maximum of 90 days at any given time.

To consider this year, I’ve spent more time in foreign countries than in the United States — my home country. The nation where I was born, raised, and worked my entire life.

When I arrived in the Philippines, the smells were one of the first things I noticed, along with the scorching heat and humid climate. I’ve lived in a first-world nation all my life, so I’m used to most American streets being cleaner and more organized. Even in lower-class areas of America.

When walking down the streets or alleyways, I’ll get a whiff of a sharp sour smell. But those odors quickly fade as my feet keep moving.

--

--

Alex Bentley
The Curious Reader

I write about crypto, personal finance, business & tech. Also, I publish a bit of humor to make you laugh.