The Healing Ritual of Listening to Music Quietly

The often overlooked habit that can bring balance to your life

Alex Bentley
The Curious Reader

--

Photo by Elice Moore on Unsplash

It’s a pretty sweet morning. The sun is shining; the birds are chirping and I’m still slightly in that post-sleep haze where everything feels possible.

Sometimes before my wife comes downstairs in the morning (I usually let her sleep in most mornings), I like to throw on some music. I’ll fire up my Spotify app, pick a playlist of favorite songs and stream it to my JBL Flip 4.

I sit here, listening to the songs quietly while drinking my coffee. It helps me wake up without being too active and drives away all traces of last night’s worries and anxieties before they can creep back into my mind.

It’s something I’ve done since high school. It’s my form of waking up to start the day with a little zen. Listening to music from a playlist has an almost meditative quality about it.

Who doesn’t love listening to music, right?

I find it to be a great way to start my morning or relax after a long day. It’s not too much, but just enough that I feel inspired. I find this daily ritual both relaxing and uplifting, which helps me keep balance in my life.

--

--

Alex Bentley
The Curious Reader

I write about crypto, personal finance, business & tech. Also, I publish a bit of humor to make you laugh.