I hate Help Desk software

We have not heard back from you regarding this request, thus, we have marked it as Solved.

Martin Schurrer
2 min readFeb 13, 2014

On Friday I sent a support request. On Saturday I got a reply asking for more details. I didn’t answer because weekend. On Monday I didn’t answer because busy. And on Tuesday 7 am I got another email:

In what possible universe would knowing that my issue has been Solved because I didn’t respond solve anything at all?!

That message was sent by an automated algorithm used by Zendesk, a company that supposedly makes a “beautifully simple customer service platform”, adding “customer satisfaction has never been easier.”

I couldn’t agree more with what Richard White, founder of UserVoice, said:

Why can’t it be more like my experience at Ritual Coffee?

Ritual Coffee Mission

I want to be treated like Ritual Coffee’s baristas treat me when I ask about today’s coffee selection.

They remember my name, they know what I like and what issues I had. They even know the weather outside (and placed an umbrella stand next to the door while it was raining).

I believe it’s possible for software companies to create a customer service experience that delights me just as much as getting coffee at Ritual does.

If you liked this article follow me on Twitter where I post about service and product design, user experience and customer satisfaction.

--

--

Martin Schurrer

Co-Founder & CTO @ PSPDFKit. We build the industry-leading SDK for viewing and annotating PDF files across mobile and desktop.