Veep’s Secret Weapon

Sarah Sutherland is the most serious actor in comedy

The Cut
The Cut

--

Sarah Sutherland from ‘Shut Up And Drive’ appears at the 2015 Tribeca Film Festival Getty Images Studio on April 17, 2015 in New York City — Photo by Andrew H. Walker/VarietyTFF2015/Getty Images for the 2015 Tribeca Film Festival

By Anna Silman

Sarah Sutherland is thrilled to be back in her old stomping grounds. For the 29-year-old Veep star and alumnus of NYU’s Tisch School of the Arts, being back in the East Village is like unlocking a trove of memories: her first apartment on St. Marks and 2nd, now an iPhone repair shop; the café where she used to go to flirt with the cute barista, now taken over by a Flywheel and CVS. “The summer after I graduated, when I was moderately losing my mind, I would go there and allegedly write and just ogle him,” she tells me over dinner at Cafe Orlin on St. Marks. “I wore kind of like punky things and I had unkempt kindergarten hair that looked like I had a mother that didn’t really love me, because I never brushed it.”

When we meet on a balmy June evening, Sutherland’s aesthetic is more private-school-gal meets Nasty Gal: a maroon blouse and matching nail polish, a yellow satin miniskirt with a floral pattern, a seafoam green Philip Lim backpack, and large black sunglasses. “I’ve been getting migraines that make me sensitive to light, so I’ve been wearing these dramatic, movie-star glasses and people probably think I’m a full douchebag,” she confesses. Yet while she may not shop at East Village grunge-haunts like Trash and Vaudeville anymore, her vibe is…

--

--