Week 9 Recap

Addressing the tank in the room

Anton Sather
The D|League
2 min readNov 9, 2017

--

No time for a recap this week, but I do want to address Mikey’s shameless tanking decision of starting a backup QB over Dak Prescott last week. Not his backup fantasy QB… literally the backup QB for the Lions. While his Sam Hinkie dedication is admirable and I understand that he’s doing what he believes is the best path towards making his team stronger in the long run, I’m of firm belief that tanking in this manner is harmful to the league.

I could go into the reasons why and implement strict measures against it immediately, but because I already made a huge playoff restructure earlier this season, I don’t feel it appropriate to go all Roger Goodell and start doling out punishments, especially this late in the season. I also just don’t have the energy or time to do so right now. I had hoped that this would have sufficed:

“Please just continue to play your most competitive line-up at all times so that I don’t have to revisit this.”

But Mikey has made his decision to exploit the loopholes in the Constitution, and all the power to him. Rest assured changes will be coming in the offseason though.

Until then, have at it. I will continue to enforce Constitutional rules such as the penalties for playing an inactive player or playing nobody at all. However, if you want to get creative and play Joe Schmo over Tom Brady, there’s nothing in the Constitution explicitly preventing you.

--

--