The Sound of Rain

A reflection on childhood

J.R. HEIMBIGNER
The Dad Vault
Published in
1 min readOct 15, 2020

--

Growing up, I basically lived in a desert. High desert to be exact. It was like Tatooine or Jakku in Star Wars. Open space for miles with very little rain.

In fact, we only got 12 inches a year.

So, when it rained, well suffice to say, it was amazing. I loved it. At night, I would open my window up so I could hear the rain bouncing off the tin roofs on the farm.

It was peaceful.

Now, as I am older, I love the sound of rain. I moved to a place that got 4x as much rain and I started to hate it.

So, I moved back.

Now, the nostalgia for my childhood pours forth as the raindrops hit. The peace and beauty bring calm to my soul.

What’s something you love that takes you back to childhood?

--

--

J.R. HEIMBIGNER
The Dad Vault

#1 Bestselling Author of 15 books on Amazon | Helping people go from writers to authors, let's chat: https://calendly.com/jrheimbigner/30min