I’ve Been Cutting My Own Hair for 2 Years Now, and Here’s What I Learned

It’s not just about the cost, but also control, convenience & skill

J. Angelo Racoma N2RAC/DU2XXR
The Daily 500

--

Photo by Alwin Kroon on Unsplash

In early 2018, I bought a US$10 set of clippers and learned to cut my own hair. At first, I was not very good. There was even one time when my hand accidentally slipped, resulting in an uneven cut on one side. I got a lot of laughs from my family and friends.

Fast forward to 2020 and the coronavirus pandemic. This year, a lot of people had been stuck at home in dire need of haircuts. Due to the lockdowns in many parts of the world, many had been unable to go to salons and barbershops for grooming.

Searches for “cut own hair” peaked in the week of April 5–11, 2020, just a month after many cities started enforcing lockdowns.

Search for “cut own hair” peaked in April 2020.

After the trend waned, interest in self-haircuts and related terms has remained at least double compared to the time prior to the pandemic. Mainstream media like WIRED and Independent even ran features on self-haircuts.

--

--

J. Angelo Racoma N2RAC/DU2XXR
The Daily 500

Angelo is editor at TechNode.Global. He writes about startups, corp innovation & venture capital (plus amateur radio on n2rac.com). Tips: buymeacoffee.com/n2rac