Smothering mother devastated at sight of son washing dishes

Shamin Chibba
The Untimely Ablutions
2 min readAug 31, 2018
“Are you wearing a vest, son?”

A Johannesburg mother was left grief-stricken when she found her son washing dishes in his Parktown home.

Sixty-nine-year-old Arvinda Mistry from Lenasia, south Johannesburg, was devastated at the sight of her Frodo-sized son, Nikil Mistry, 42, stooping over the kitchen sink and “messing his hands from grimy dishes and soapy water”.

Mistry said there was no need for him to be cleaning dishes as he has a wife to do the chore.

“My child’s delicate and smooth hands were getting wrinkled from it being in the water for too long. A kitchen is no place for my boy.”

She described the moment as heart-wrenching and added that she dropped to her knees and wailed in agony.

“I cried so bitterly, I kept on slipping from my tears as I tried to stand up. I could see my son was in misery. That bitch wife of his has emotionally beaten the delicate flower out of him and made him into a soulless handyman.”

Mistry reminisced about Nikil’s life in her Lenasia home, when she was there to see to his every need.

“From the time he was a baby until the day he got married, I was there to dry his hair, bath him, pick out his clothes for work and even spread toothpaste on his toothbrush in the mornings. Now, I don’t even recognise the boy.”

Wife admits Nikil is an adult-child

Nikil’s wife, Amisha Laloo, said she was arranged to marry Nikil and only really met him a week before the wedding.

“I did not know what I was getting myself into when I got married. But I remember thinking on the wedding day that if I am to make this marriage work, I’m going to have to make him become a self-sufficient. Washing dishes was just the start of it.”

Laloo said she is currently training Nikil on how to sweep the house and make up the bed in the morning.

“I thought I would start with normal household chores before giving him DIY training. I need a handyman in the house. The bastard doesn’t know how to use a screwdriver, so can you imagine what else he can’t use? I have to get my thrills while watching the BBC Lifestyle channel.”

She said after DIY training, she will teach him how to toast bread and fry an egg.

Nikil complained that the training was taxing on his body and mind and he has the scars to prove it.

“I am getting callouses on my hands from holding the broom so often and I am going through numerous bottles of hand lotion as if they were sweetmeats. I wish I was back at home with my mommy.”

--

--

Shamin Chibba
The Untimely Ablutions

Writing for a while and still eats beans on toast for breakfast. Based in Johannesburg, South Africa. For more information, check out shaminchibba.com.