A Chance Meeting

Two myths and a coffee shop

Men.21times@gmail.com
The Daily Cuppa Grande
5 min readDec 24, 2023

--

Ian Baldwin

The Reunion.

Nicholas, you old dog!

I always love Nick’s hugs best. They are powerfully strong Like being plugged directly into his heart.

“Michael, you still look like a child.” He Slaps me on the shoulder as we make our way inside.

I felt a child in his presence. Even after all these years, he could rekindle feelings that had since tarnished. Reminding me of the heaven on earth I used to know.

“How is Mrs. C? I crave her gingerbread men something fierce.”

He grabs his stomach, and a hearty giggle escapes. Then, we both burst out in laughter.

We walk to the counter side by side as if tethered at the hips. Nick stepped in front of me while calming his laugh.

“Sir, are you alright?” The server has a look of concern. She is a lovely young woman with emerald green eyes.

I fall alongside Nick again. “Do you mean the cherry-red cheeks? Not to worry, he always lights up with a good laugh.”

“Michael, it’s my turn to pay.”

I watch as Nick searches every pocket of his freshly pressed jumpsuit. It is a rich ruby-red contrast in holly green double stitch thread. The work of his longtime wife, I suspect.

“Jackie, he will have a large hot chocolate with marshmallow compliment. I want a double red-eye with blonde coffee and a cinnamon sprinkle.”

“How do you know my name?”

Looking up, I find that Nick and Jackie’s eyes are both focused on me.

While presenting a smug smile, Nick pipes up. Michael, tell the lady how you know her name.

Usually, he is the one having to explain himself. He is totally enjoying my hesitation.

“I must have heard a coworker speaking to you. How else might I know it?”

I can tell from the tilt of her head and shrinking pupils that she does not buy it.
“Do you have a better explanation? I add.”

I place three new fifty-dollar bills on the countertop, telling her to keep the change.

Oh, no Sir, I couldn’t. Consider it an early Christmas Gift. Please don’t refer to me as Sir Jackie. My name is Michael.”

“Yes, perhaps you have heard of my friend before?”

Nick can tell from my stare that he is on thin ice. So he leaves to secure us a booth.

“Are you famous?”

I laugh while uttering Legendary.

Smiling, she lets me know she will bring us our drinks. I set off in search of Nick.

I find him comfortably in a window-facing seat, waving to an adorable child walking the sidewalk with her mother.

You can’t help yourself. Can you?”

“Sit and relax Mike. It is almost Christmas. Allow me my time.”

I am humbled, for he is justified in rebuttal.
I seat myself across from him in the booth. I am amazed by the reaction he brings to every child.

Jackie spontaneously appears with our drinks. I’m keeping an eye on you two. I can’t quite put my finger on it, but there is something fishy about the two of you.

Nicholas pats the seat beside him and gestures for Jackie to sit. Her chestnut hair makes her eyes radiate all the brighter.

“Tell me, what would you like for Christmas?”

“You ARE kidding, right?” She is glaring while tapping her right foot softly against the floor.

“He is harmless, Jackie. But sometimes he forgets, Clause is just his holiday act.”

A bolt of pain travels up the length of my left leg from the strike of a boot tip as Jackie sits beside Nick.

“You best behave yourself, or I will rip that beard from your face. Do you hear what I’m saying?”

She gingerly sets our drinks on the table. “I am sorry. Please forgive me. I have no right to take my troubles out on you.”

Jackie is the first to notice the commotion on the other side of the pane of glass. The little girl is squirming away from her mother, screeching something indiscernible. She bolts up and makes her way to the front of the shop.

“Poor child.”

“Poor child? How about the mother?” She looks like she is at her wit’s end.

“I meant Jackie Michael. She has had a tragic childhood, in fact, no childhood at all.”

I raise my cup to my lips for the first taste of coffee, remembering Nick has abilities.

“Can you help her?”

He removes the lid from his hot chocolate, watching the marshmallow blanket the fluid. “We shall see.”

As I raise my coffee for another taste, the little girl runs full speed into the side of me. The cup dislodges from my hand. The lid unhinges, and the scalding fluid cascades down my chin and chest onto my lap.

Jackie and the girl’s mother arrive second behind to witness the steam rising from my clothes.

The little girl grasped my face and ran her hands along my jaw, up to my temple. “Please, I know you can save him.”

The mother attempts to peel the girl from me while Jackie makes a feeble attempt to remove the liquid from my clothes and skin.

“It’s ok Lois. Jackie, I’m fine.”

Nickolas is frowning, shaking his head from side to side. Michael, you mustn’t. “You remember the last time.”

The little girl hugs me with all her might. Please?

The mother has tears streaming down her cheeks while she pulls her child back against her body. I stand to reach a nearby chair for her to sit in while I make a gesture to Nick to help comfort her.

Jackie approaches me uncomfortably close. You didn’t jump or make a noise. Your skin isn’t even red.

Bunny, I can’t.

The mother, slowly looking up, asks me how I know their names.

Yes, you can! You can do anything. The girl is desperate.

Jackie is nearly nose-to-nose with me. Is it true?

I sink back into the booth, trying to buy time.

Jackie, would you please take an order for everyone?
Nick, Lois, and Bunny have not eaten anything today. Make sure they have something.
Please excuse me, I have to change. Nicholas, I’ll be back as soon as I am able.

I stand and make my way out, knowing this is a test. Knowing doing the right thing sometimes means breaking all the rules.

--

--

Men.21times@gmail.com
The Daily Cuppa Grande

Patient of life, attempting to heal oneself by Quill. Transitioning from a profession of technology.