Art is Everywhere

Living in harmony is art

Sue Banerji
The Daily Cuppa Grande
2 min readMay 18, 2024

--

Two cycle rickshaws are standing in front of a delapelated building. Kolkata, India Photo by Sue Banerji

Heat is still not at its peak as they say, but my dripping sweat says it otherwise. There are many old colonial-style architectures all over Kolkata, once the capital of India under British Raj. But that is far from my mind — and that’s not where I find my inspiration.

In spite of unruly garbage here and there, the greenery stamps this city as eco-friendly. I find art in every corner of Kolkata… even when I don’t look for it. And despite skyscrapers replacing ancestral properties, the trees and the seedlings grow with pride without seeking much attention from others.

A tree with lush green leaves on a sidewalk. Photo by Sue Banerji( author).

I am not an expert on climate but whatever little knowledge I have gathered tells me, making space for other things like animals and plants could be good for us. There is art in life…everywhere when you love things other than just yourself.

A sparrow holding a few twigs in her beak sits on a bike. Photo by Sue Banerji( Author)
Mango and other trees close to a building. Photo by Sue Banerji( Author)

Art is never too far from our hearts: You don’t need to go to the art galleries to find it!

My sincere gratitude to Katie Michaelson and The Daily Cuppa Grande Team for letting me be and to my readers…I exist because of you!

P.S. All these pictures are from Kolkata, India from an Uber Cab… sometimes with the rolled-up windows, but always with my Galaxy. 🙏

I will not have access to my laptop until June 24th, so my editing will be challenged. My sincere apologies!

--

--

Sue Banerji
The Daily Cuppa Grande

"Be kind. You never know where and how will you end up." Me . A healthcare professional believing that readers and writers have a symbiotic relationship!