As I Dive

Into dreams.

David Rudder
The Daily Cuppa Grande
1 min readMay 19, 2024

--

Photo by Daniel Stenholm on Unsplash

I slip and slide into sleep,
Then disappear into my dreams,
Like a diver in the deep,
Nothing’s as it seems.

Are these mere illusions?
Or truth that I cannot, see?
As I fly into the storm,
I wonder which one is me?

Born and predicated,
On thoughts, fears, and ideas,
And some dedicated,
Mainly by my peers.

Wading through the jungle,
Or dancing on a dime,
Or up so high, I can fly,
Like a spy in pantomime.

My belief that a leaf,
is green and grey and red,
Is all learned behaviour,
The way that I was bred.

It may be what I see
is driven by emotion,
And the love that I feel
is based on devotion.

Types of bytes and little lights,
Implanted in my mind,
Armaments of energy,
I pick up, process, and find.

Deep down, there are the denizens,
I’m a diver in a dream,
Passing by and participating,
Then evaporate like steam.

©

David Rudder
2024

Thank you for reading this piece and my poetry.

--

--

David Rudder
The Daily Cuppa Grande

Top writer in Poetry. I am a diarist and write poetry to reflect my thoughts.