Before

The breeze.

David Rudder
The Daily Cuppa Grande
1 min readDec 21, 2023

--

Photo by Greyson Joralemon on Unsplash

The golden sun sinks slowly
there’s music in the air
adrift on a familiar shore
I ascend heaven stairs.

and freefall into the rhythm
the tempo of the night
before the breeze has shifted
into moods of sheer delight.

I drop the veils of secrecy
and find another place
to unravel the mystery
and in there find a trace.

Between the scene, I swallow
sweet sustenance I’ve found
shedding skins, I find wings
and leave the solid ground.

Embracing the simplicity
the means that matter most
undoing the duplicity
cruising to the coast.

The mirrors of reflection
before the morning breeze
and nuances of nature
whisper through the trees.

I feel that I am floating
suspended in thin air
above the turquoise waters
on a wing and prayer.

Wrapped around my body
this short, sweet springtime
with the key to set me free
the feeling is sublime.

© David Rudder
2023

Thank you for reading this piece and my poetry. Click below to Join Medium for more great poetry and stories.

https://davidrudder.medium.com/membership

--

--

David Rudder
The Daily Cuppa Grande

Top writer in Poetry. I am a diarist and write poetry to reflect my thoughts.