LIFE LESSONS

Can’t You Change Situations in Life-Why Don’t You Change Perceptions

Life is not a finished portrait but a dynamic masterpiece

Indra Raj Pathak
The Daily Cuppa Grande

--

Photo by Nira Orozco on Unsplash

There has ever been a controversy in everyone’s life between life situations and aspirations. We aspire according to the plans already set within. The life circumstances follow their own course.

We live within our comfort zones. We often declare our limits and power of endurance. Life is like a road unknown, where we have to travel, but we cannot forecast the road condition in the same way we cannot aspire to a kind of preferred situation in life.

The problem arises because we become judgemental without holding the seat of a judge.

You can easily calculate standard journey time on the standard road with the help of Google Map, but if recently some construction work started, or an accident took place on that road, you can never arrive at the calculated time. But if you are alert and get information before reaching that point, you can divert your way and save time. The same applies to real life.

We see young people get employed within two years of their Bachelor’s degree but 20% of them remain unemployed after that time because of various reasons. You cannot choose your category that you belong to 80% only. So, you need to decide to keep yourself engaged in other pursuits if you don’t get a job to avoid frustration and depression.

You can see how much easier it is to change your perception than fight and curse the life situations. By cursing your life or cursing yourself in both ways, only you will lose.

Career becoming a vast ocean

At one phase, my career looked to be a vast ocean. My job dissatisfaction became a ship lost at sea. I was desperate and looking for help around, but in vain. My hope faded. I realized that I was too rigid to allow even a minor change to adjust to the existing storm in life. When profusely blaming external circumstances couldn’t bring out any change, I felt that I only had the power to steer the ship of my life as the situation needed. I changed my perception.

Alas! How much I suffered to know the secret. Remember, we are the captains of our life’s ship.

Therefore, I adjusted my sails. Wonderful! Why didn’t I think early? I explored new modus operandi and new opportunities. What a miracle! I steered my career ship into calm waters, where I changed my perspective through counter decision-making.

Relationship becoming a bundle of misunderstanding

A happy relationship in our life is as important as the good quality of air for breathing.

In the matter of personal relationships, I faced a situation where misunderstandings and conflicts followed me like a shadow. I suffocated terribly to the extent of suicide. Then I got a clear sign that the change in perception was the only way out. I had planted new seeds to foster understanding. I understood that conversation, like the fertilizer, needed to nurture healthier relationships.

Through conversation, I could dismantle preconceived thoughts already occupied the mind. How proud of myself for reshaping the relationship! Truly, I overhauled a rocky terrain into a blooming garden of mutual understanding.

Life’s challenges. A zigzag road. No difference. Our perception is like the lens through which we observe the life in adversity. I once faced a situation where failures in my efforts left me disappointed. I saw the road ahead was invisible because of thick fog that was hiding the smooth road that lay beyond. I didn’t stop, but instantly changed my perception. Then I continued through the fog as a mysterious veil on the beautiful face of a bride that never failed to heighten the exciting curiosity. I welcomed the unknown with a positive mindset. And lo! At once, the same what looked like an obstacle changed into an opportunity for growth.

There is always a decree of perception in life

Are life’s situations and perceptions interconnected? Often we need to change a pattern of inter-connectivity whenever situations mismatch. To change the pattern of our existence, we must change perceptions. We can explore unexpected challenges by reshaping our perceptions when needed. We have to plant seeds of understanding to change our perspective when faced with the unknown.

Don’t change situations in your life instead, change your aspect to see them. Do what you can, others can’t help you.

Life is not a finished portrait. It is a dynamic masterpiece. We have to contribute to brushstroke by brushstroke, perception by perception, and then we create a story uniquely our only own.

--

--