Fartlek

Philosophy.

David Rudder
The Daily Cuppa Grande
1 min readAug 14, 2023

--

Photo by Jenny Hill on Unsplash

To the rhythm and the beat
Up you get onto your feet
Nice and slow around we go
Yes it feels so sweet

In a while you’ll feel a smile
As you move into the groove
Then increase the tempo
As you do improve

Remember the philosophy
Simple is no challenge
Try to do a little more
What your breath can manage

Easy peasy pudding pie
Hard means the challenge is over
Turn over satisfied
Rolling in the clover

Fame’s the name and your refrain
Is Fartlek philosophy
Slow then fast for training
Preserves economy

Fartlek in the morning
And in bed at night
Try it on your best friends
They’ll scream with pure delight

I used to fight with Fartlek
Until I found the way
To improve my momentum
Now I fartlek night and day

©

David Rudder
2023

Note: Fartlek training is a kind of running training that involves random variations in speed and intensity, alternating between bursts of sprinting and slower ‘recovery’ jogging.

Thank you for reading this piece and my poetry.

Click below to Join Medium for more great poetry and stories.
Write and be paid!

https://davidrudder.medium.com/membership

--

--

David Rudder
The Daily Cuppa Grande

Top writer in Poetry. I am a diarist and write poetry to reflect my thoughts.