“IT’S-IT”

An Iconic Ice Cream Dessert that Almost Disappeared!

James Beaufait
The Daily Cuppa Grande

--

Photo by Author

After two hours of muffled conversation, my magician dentist had repaired not one but two broken molars. He’s a two-hour drive from our humble off-grid home to his office, but worth every mile in making my mouth and life whole again.

I’m on my way home and really wanting to treat myself for getting up at 4:45 am for my 7:30 am emergency appointment. There’s a small family owned grocery-deli-fishing general store along the coast that has my favorite childhood ice cream treat. It’s the only place I know of to get an original “IT’S-IT” ice cream sandwich in vanilla or chocolate on the Big Island. “IT’S” my idea of the perfect mana breakfast, Hawaiian style!

As you can see the wrapper is empty. I would have taken a picture before ravishing the sensuous pleasures of this iconic ice cream sandwich, but I was overcome by my own insatiable desires to return to those treasured moments of childhood of pure sweet joy!

I’m not sure my dentist would have approved, yet he’s a friend, so I doubt he would have disapproved either!

I grew up in the San Francisco Bay Area. My father was the first to share this “secret” dessert during my first visit to the amusement park at Playland at the Beach.

--

--

James Beaufait
The Daily Cuppa Grande

Living our dream off-grid in Hawaii; passionate about creative expression: Wabi-sabi stories, living and dreaming consciously, and communing with Mother Nature.