KEEP MOVING

Challenge your mental and physical barriers.

Thomas Sparley
The Daily Cuppa Grande
2 min readMay 16, 2023

--

I had one hour to find a quiet spot on the gulf of Mexico before the shuttle boat left for the mainland.
Photo by author. Gulf Islands, Florida (August 03, 2014)

For 8 years, I needed to plan my adventures around physical impairments in the woods and on the beaches. Most of these adventures were work-related, but I had one day a week to explore.

Exploring the gulf coast of Florida on my day off. Gulf Islands National Seashore.
Photo by author. Exploring the gulf coast of Florida on my day off. (August 03, 2014)

Fast forward to April 2023; Physical therapy for a pulled muscle in my leg.

After an intensive walking workout indoors, I escaped outside on our flat deck for a photograph of backyard nature. Not as intriguing as the Florida gulf coast.

The circuit in the house traveled down the hallway, living room, kitchen, and back into the bedroom. Repeat. Repeat. Repeat.

The next level challenge was walking outside. The first task; walk down three stairs and get to the street for the mailbox.

The next task; walk back into the house.

Author’s note: I continue the practical physical therapy and mental games that keep me on a path to recovery. Yes, the pulled muscle in my upper leg is getting stronger in the last 4 weeks. So are my plans for the future.

One step at a time (literally).

Your daily journey is your story.

Please share your story.

--

--

Thomas Sparley
The Daily Cuppa Grande

53 years as explorer, writer, photographer. Photographs to Paragraphs. One-eye writing to share experiences of learning to adapt. 28-yrs geologist.