Overcoming a Scary First Encounter

The story of meeting my girlfriend’s protective dog

Pawtastic Pet Care
The Daily Cuppa Grande
2 min readApr 11, 2023

--

Black chow mix dog stares off in the distance with snow on his nose
Osa the dog: Image by author

As a dog lover, I’ve always enjoyed spending time with furry companions. When I started dating a girl who owned a chow mix named Osa, I was excited to meet him.

The first time I encountered Osa, he was in a crate in my girlfriend’s living room. As soon as he saw me, he went crazy, barking and growling as if he wanted to attack. I thought he was going to kill me. My girlfriend reassured me that he was just being protective and that he would calm down once he got used to me.

Over the next few weeks, I spent time at my girlfriend’s house, gradually getting to know Osa. At first, he would still bark and growl at me, but over time, he started to warm up to me. Eventually, he would greet me with a wagging tail and happy barks whenever I came over.

Through my experiences with Osa, I learned that dogs are protective of their owners and their territory. It’s not personal; it’s just their nature. They see their owners as part of their pack, and they will do whatever it takes to protect them.

As dog lovers, we should always approach dogs with respect and caution, especially if they are protective of their owners. We should also take the time to get to know them and earn their trust. After all, dogs are loyal companions who deserve our love and respect.

If you enjoyed this article about Osa, please follow me here on Medium for more helpful tips on making sure our dogs are living their best life!

--

--

Pawtastic Pet Care
The Daily Cuppa Grande

Pawtastic Pet Care offers expert tips, fun DIYs, and the latest gear reviews to help you give your dog the best life possible. Join us for happy, healthy pups!