Dr. Seuss/The Lorax/Truffula Tree/Theodor Geisel

Real-Life Truffula Tree is Gone

The tree that inspired the book “The Lorax” by Dr. Seuss is no more

Michael Rhodes
The Daily Cuppa Grande
3 min readAug 14, 2023

--

Created in Canva by Author — Inspired by the Truffula Trees of Dr. Seuss's imagination

I read the book “The Lorax” by Dr. Seuss to our son when he was little. We had most of the Dr. Seuss books, and I loved them as much as our son did.

Can anyone forget “Green Eggs and Ham?”

The author Theodor Geisel lived in La Jolla, California (San Diego), about 35 miles from where I live.

The iconic Monterey Cypress tree, which is thought to have inspired the Truffula trees in his book, “The Lorax,” fell over in 2019.

ABC News mentioned the tree was between 80 to 100 years old in the news story below.

I saw the tree many times, and I knew of its connection to Dr. Seuss, but I only heard of its demise a couple of days ago.

Locals called it the Dr. Seuss tree.

--

--

Michael Rhodes
The Daily Cuppa Grande

Retired - Top writer in Sustainability, Travel & Food. Married 41 years, we have a Corgi dog. Love, camping, baseball, Bonsai, travel, & food.