PHOTOGRAPHS TO PARAGRAPHS

Seeing With One Eye -Book 3, CH.3

Learning every day; You challenge yourself.

Thomas Sparley
The Daily Cuppa Grande

--

Seeing more life with one eye. Our backyard sanctuary of quiet and beautiful nature.
Photo by Thomas Sparley. Perspectives of backyard nature.

You can discover the lines of perspective that attract your attention. What was the center of my focus was the bright reflection of light in the birdbath. Then, the colorful sunset. There are several paths of observation that perspectives can lead you through nature. Enjoy finding your path.

13 years of work since I lost sight in my right eye.

At the beginning, I struggled to be normal. There were many times of bumping the door casings. There were many bruises on my shoulders and arms.

Many mistakes in learning to be normal were painful.

The worst mistake I made was trying to be normal.

Who was I trying to impress? Look! I can juggle three balls and spin a plate on my nose. Nah.

I needed to learn how to see more with one eye.

Observation skills were my stronger advantage. Both in the geological detective work and how to represent those findings in photographs to those not working in dirt or rocks.

Three months after losing my eye, I was offered a field job, if I felt ready.

I accepted the challenge!

I love the outdoors. I have always been intrigued by the challenge of researching the problem and providing a practical solution for community safety and environmental protection.

Learn different techniques for using your strong skills.

Climbing to precarious locations for closeup photos, drawings, and written details developed into alternate skills with zoom lenses, a description of the angles of the trees, researching previous soil core samples at depth intervals, and asking the local work crews.

You will learn more about your surroundings and yourself with one eye or two. Just sit on the grass, a rock, a tree stump, or a bench to see, listen, and feel.

--

--

Thomas Sparley
The Daily Cuppa Grande

53 years as explorer, writer, photographer. Photographs to Paragraphs. One-eye writing to share experiences of learning to adapt. 28-yrs geologist.