Spread My Wings

And fly away.

David Rudder
The Daily Cuppa Grande
1 min readJun 30, 2024

--

Photograph by my daughter Jess! Her partner Chris surfing in Portugal, June 2024.

Looking back with no regrets
Hindsight now put into focus
No more debts, no sweat, or threats
And no more hocus-pocus.

In the past, the last gasp.
Are memories now faded?
No sorrows left either bereft.
I no longer feel invaded.

The robust glass oozing with class
Now focused far ahead
To greener pastures never grazed
Tomes of wisdom not yet read.

The open road is my node
The wind drives me on
A new perspective I deeply yearn
Before I’m gone.

Life now becomes a lottery.
Stars glitter from the pages
A good luck charm, a rabbit’s tail
Deep phrases from old sages.

Mysteries of life invade my soul.
An endless whirling eddy
The cloak of recognition gone
My mind and soul are ready.

For every death, new life evolves.
Old habits die and wither.
The clock of life slowly revolves.
Through tiny cracks, they slither.

The old has gone. I must move on
There’s no reason to stay
Like Chris, I’ll spread my wings
And fly away.

©

David Rudder
2024

Thank you for reading this piece and my poetry.

--

--

David Rudder
The Daily Cuppa Grande

Top writer in Poetry. I am a diarist and write poetry to reflect my thoughts.