The Great Weight of the World

Atlas

David Rudder
The Daily Cuppa Grande
1 min readSep 17, 2023

--

Photo by Michel Engels on Unsplash

The mode and load and secret code,
the great weight of the world,
hunched and held unparalleled,
as round and round we whirled.

Signals from my signet ring,
sounds of silence found,
lost in space I levitate,
six feet off the ground.

The traps in maps multiply,
my mind’s a magnet for,
a route to boot my mind again,
and open up the door .

Meanwhile we’ve walked a country mile,
seeking his support,
he groans and moans, the king of thrones,
then holds counsel in his court.

There’s gratitude in attitude,
false hope widens the scope,
there’s karma for the charmer,
as along the track we lope.

Atlas stood there hatless,
in the burning sun,
shadows eclipse his moving lips,
his day’s work is never done.

Sitting here I have no fear,
I watch the world go by,
and Atlas just for practice,
lifts us to the sky.

©

David Rudder
2023

Thank you for reading this piece and my poetry.

Click below to Join Medium for more great poetry and stories.
Write and be paid!

https://davidrudder.medium.com/membership

--

--

David Rudder
The Daily Cuppa Grande

Top writer in Poetry. I am a diarist and write poetry to reflect my thoughts.