Tidbits that Turn

My taste buds are on fire.

David Rudder
The Daily Cuppa Grande
2 min readAug 28, 2023

--

Photo by Melissa Walker Horn on Unsplash

When it’s left up to my imagination
Tidbits that turn my taste buds on fire
Behind closed doors, until opened
Dying for the food that I desire

Then I deal with the disappointment
The search for satisfaction is a farce
Opening the fridge may be ridgy didge
Slim pickings are very sparse

I remember Mum said to eat an apple
Fruit is good to quell the appetite
Then there were the midnight meanderings
Looking for a slice of delight

My mind is a morsel magnet
I suck on a sweet or a saveloy
And lay on lashings of butter
Hoping by some fluke, I can forget

Then I gaze in anticipation
And wonder what’s behind the closed doors
I try hard to resist the temptation
But in the end, I know I’m yours

Love is a cure for the craving
An inanimate and crazy state of mind
A way to ease the yearnings
But then again, love can be blind

Behind closed doors, there is a yearning
A need to know what’s on the other side
The lust, desire, and craving
All aboard, for another ride

©

David Rudder
2023

Thank you for reading this piece and my poetry.

Click below to Join Medium for more great poetry and stories.
Write and be paid!

https://davidrudder.medium.com/membership

--

--

David Rudder
The Daily Cuppa Grande

Top writer in Poetry. I am a diarist and write poetry to reflect my thoughts.